Hasan Ali's dubious catch against Kent sparks debate [Video]

Discussion in 'Cricket Talk' started by chandtara, Apr 29, 2019.

Users Who Have Read This Thread (Total: 0)

  1. chandtara
    Online

    chandtara Mr Cricistan

    Jun 18, 2011
    37,790


    Hasan Ali was at the centre of controversy after he claimed a catch despite apparently dropping the ball in their opening tour match against Kent.

    The tourists comfortably beat the county side by 100 runs after amassing 358-7 in their 50 overs on Saturday.

    Kent were 176-3 in reply in the 30th over when Alex Blake, on 89, skied a return catch to Hasan, who was bowling.

    Video footage emerged on Monday that showed the seamer appeared to floor the catch.

    But Hasan continued his celebration as the ball lay on the ground and the batsman was not given a reprieve by the umpire.

    The laws of cricket state that a catch is completed only when "a fielder obtains complete control over both the ball and his/her own movement".

    https://www.thenational.ae/sport/cr...ous-catch-against-kent-sparks-debate-1.855100
     
  2. Del
    Offline

    Del Cornered Tiger

    Dec 21, 2016
    10,616
    Can't say something with certainty due to video quality.
     
  3. Mohammed Bilal
    Offline

    Mohammed Bilal Tracer Bullet

    Jul 17, 2017
    6,603
    I think he caught it but Hassan needs to drop this attitude, imagine just for a celebration he can cost us a important catch, hasn’t he learnt after what happened in Zimbabwe after he jarred his neck with that celebration, he became laughing stock and on top of it he actually hurt himself, he has to think about these things.
     

Share This Page